Layout Image

2011 Special Awards

We are proud to announce the honorees who will receive this year’s special awards from the LADCC. Each award is accompanied by a check from a generous sponsor.

We know that the entire LA theatrical community joins us in congratulating these very special individuals and institutions.



The 2011 special award recipients are as follows:


THE TED SCHMITT AWARD for the world premiere of an outstanding new play, accompanied by an offer to publish by Samuel French, Inc.

Awarded to David Wiener for Extraordinary Chambers.

THE POLLY WARFIELD AWARD for an excellent season in a small to mid-size theatre, accompanied by an honorarium, funded by the Nederlander Organization.

Awarded to Rogue Machine.

THE BOB Z AWARD for career achievement in set design.

Awarded to Kurt Boetcher.

THE ANGSTROM AWARD for career achievement in lighting design, accompanied by an honorarium, funded by Angstrom Lighting.

Awarded to Lap Chi Chu.

THE MARGARET HARFORD AWARD for sustained excellence in theatre.

Awarded to the Odyssey Theatre.

THE JOEL HIRSCHHORN AWARD for outstanding achievement in musical theatre.

Awarded to Lee Martino.

THE MILTON KATSELAS AWARD for career or special achievement in direction, accompanied by an honorarium, funded by The Katselas Theatre Company.

Awarded to Matt Shakman.