2018 Awards : 50th Annual LADCC Awards

Congratulations to the recipients of the 50th Annual LADCC Awards. In some categories, multiple winners were named.


  • Cambodian Rock Band, produced by South Coast Repertory and Honorary Producers Carolyn and Bill Klein and Samuel and Tammy Tang, South Coast Repertory
  • Come From Away, produced by Junkyard Dog Productions, Jerry Frankel, Latitude Link, Smith & Brant Theatricals, Steve & Paula Reynolds, David Mirvish, Michael Rubinoff, Alhadeff Productions, Michael Alden & Nancy Nagel Gibbs, Sam Levy, Rodney Rigby, Spencer Ross, Richard Winkler, Yonge Street Theatricals, Sheridan College, Michael & Ellise Coit, Ronald Frankel, Sheri & Les Biller, Richard & Sherry Belkin, Marlene & Gary Cohen, Allan Detsky & Rena Mendelson, Lauren Doll, Barbara H. Freitag, Wendy Gillespie, Laura Little Theatricals, Carl & Jennifer Pasbjerg, Radio Mouse Entertainment, The Shubert Organization, Cynthia Stroum, Tulchin Bartner Productions, Gwen Arment/Molly Morris & Terry McNicholas, Maureen & Joel Benoliel/Marjorie & Ron Danz, Pamela Cooper/Corey Brunish, Demos Bizar/Square 1 Theatrics, Joshua Goodman/Lauren Stevens, Just for Laughs Theatricals/Judith Ann Abrams Productions, Bill & Linda Potter/Rosemary & Kenneth Willman and La Jolla Playhouse and Seattle Repertory Theatre, Center Theatre Group/Ahmanson Theatre
  • Cry It Out, produced by Chris Fields and Rachael Zambias/Echo Theater Company, Echo Theater Company at Atwater Village Theatre
  • Sell/Buy/Date, produced by Geffen Playhouse/Los Angeles LGBT Center’s Lily Tomlin/Jane Wagner Cultural Arts Center, Andrew Carlberg, and Foment Productions, Geffen Playhouse/Los Angeles LGBT Center

MCCULLOH AWARD FOR REVIVAL (Shows between 1920 and 1980)

  • Cabaret, produced by Michael Matthews, Michael O’Hara, Jay Marcus, Mark Giberson, Alan Wethern, David Tran, Parnell Damone Marcano, Constance Jewell Lopez, Celebration Theatre
  • Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead, A Noise Within
  • The Little Foxes, Antaeus Theatre Company


  • MaameYaa BoafoSchool Girls; Or, the African Mean Girls Play, Center Theatre Group/Kirk Douglas Theatre
  • Tom HanksHenry IV, The Shakespeare Center of Los Angeles
  • Kasey Mahaffy, Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead, A Noise Within
  • Alex NeeCabaret, Celebration Theatre
  • Conrad RicamoraSoft Power, Center Theatre Group/Ahmanson Theatre


  • Rob Nagle, The Little Foxes, Antaeus Theatre Company
  • Daisuke TsujiCambodian Rock Band, South Coast Repertory


  • Come From Away, Center Theatre Group/Ahmanson Theatre
  • The Little Foxes, Antaeus Theatre Company


  • Sarah JonesSell/Buy/Date, Geffen Playhouse / Los Angeles LGBT Center


  • Sarah JonesSell/Buy/Date, Geffen Playhouse / Los Angeles LGBT Center
  • Molly Smith MetzlerCry It Out, Echo Theater Company


  • Patrick MarberThree Days in the Country, Antaeus Theatre Company


  • Irene Sankoff and David HeinCome From Away, Center Theatre Group/ Ahmanson Theatre


  • Ian EisendrathCome From Away, Center Theatre Group/Ahmanson Theatre
  • Anthony ZedikerCabaret, Celebration Theatre


  • Janet RostonCabaret, Celebration Theatre


  • Jennifer ChangVietgone, East West Players
  • Geoff ElliottRosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead, A Noise Within


  • Stephen GiffordCabaret, Celebration Theatre
  • John Iacovelli, The Little Foxes, Antaeus Theatre Company


  • Matthew Brian DenmanCabaret, Celebration Theatre
  • Andrew Schmedake, Native Son, Antaeus Theatre Company


  • Allison DillardBLISS (or Emily Post is Dead!), Moving Arts at Atwater Village Theatre
  • Allison DillardPriscilla, Queen of the Desert, Celebration Theatre


  • Jeff GardnerNative Son, Antaeus Theatre Company
  • Joshua D. ReidA Christmas Carol, Geffen Playhouse


  • Kaitlyn Pietras and Jason H. ThompsonVietgone, East West Players


  • Thomas Isao Morinaka and Aaron Aoki for Fight ChoreographyVietgone, East West Players
  • Jim Steinmeyer for Illusions, Stagecraft, and Magic CarpetAladdin, Hollywood Pantages Theatre

The following special award winners were previously announced:

The THEATER ANGEL AWARD for distinguished service to Los Angeles Theater: Yvonne Bell.

The GORDON DAVIDSON Award for distinguished contribution to the Los Angeles theatrical community: Native Voices at the Autry.

The MARGARET HARFORD Award for sustained excellence: Sacred Fools Theater Company.

The POLLY WARFIELD Award for an excellent season in a small to mid-size theatre: Echo Theater Company.

The JOEL HIRSCHHORN Award for distinguished achievement in musical theatre: McCoy Rigby Entertainment & La Mirada Theatre for the Performing Arts.

The TED SCHMITT Award for the world premiere of an outstanding new play: Lauren Yee for Cambodian Rock Band, originally produced by South Coast Repertory.

The MILTON KATSELAS Award for distinguished achievement in direction: Cameron Watson.

The KINETIC LIGHTING Award for distinguished achievement in theatrical design: Robert Oriol, Sound Designer.