Photo Essay — 44th Annual Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle Awards evening

The entire nineteen-member troupe of Chance Theater’s West Side Story recreate “The Rumble.”

A splendid time was had by all who attended the 44th Annual Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle Awards event. A group of professional theater critics, the Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle (LADCC), annually gives awards for excellence in theater.

The 44th Annual Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle Awards ceremony took place Monday, March 18, 2013 at the Los Angeles Theatre Center in Downtown Los Angeles. Home-grown productions handily held their own against touring fare at the 44th annual Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle Awards, presented at the Los Angeles Theatre Center on Monday night.

Photos by Jayne Calucag.

Here follows a photo essay of some of the awards presenters, winners and performers:

The 44th Annual Awards ceremony was hosted by theater and TV star French Stewart.

Awards chair and Variety critic Bob Verini.
Bonnie Bailey-Reed (L) and Anne Gee Byrd accept the award for ensemble for The Savannah Disputation.
Celebration Theatre receives the Margaret Harford Award for sustained excellence. Managing director Michael O’Hara, co-artistic directors Michael Matthews and Michael Shepperd, and former artistic director John Michael Beck.
Alan Mandell, one of the winners for lead actor, for his performance in Waiting for Godot.
Career achievement winner and set designerStephen Gifford presenting with LAist critic Terry Morgan.
Artistic director of Pasadena Playhouse, Sheldon Epps presents awards to design recipients.
Troy Kotsur signs as he receives his award for lead performance in Cyrano.
Casey Kramer, Tim Cummings, Becky Zajko, and Lisa Pelikan receive the Ensemble award for their work in The New Electric Ballroom.
Fight choreographers Kelly Todd and David McCormick accept the award for the fight sequences in “West Side Story.”
Artistic director of Center Theatre Group, Michael Ritchie, accepts a special award for an excellent season.
John Iacovelli accepts his award for set design for Waiting for Godot.