LADCC Announces Recipients of its 50th Annual Awards

The Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle announced the recipients of its 50th annual awards for distinguished achievement in theatre tonight at Pasadena Playhouse. Wenzel Jonespresided over the festivities, and Christopher Raymond served as music director.

There were four recipients of the 2018 Production award: Cambodian Rock Band (South Coast Repertory), Come From Away (Center Theatre Group/Ahmanson Theatre), Cry It Out (Echo Theater Company), and Sell/Buy/Date (Geffen Playhouse/Los Angeles LGBT Center). Awards in 17 other categories celebrated a wide range of Los Angeles theater, with 17 different productions taking home honors. Celebration Theatre’s Cabaret took home the most awards for a single production, with six, including a nod for Revival. Antaeus Theatre Company received the most awards, with three of its productions winning a combined seven trophies. In a competitive category, Tom Hanks received a lead actor award for his performance as Falstaff in The Shakespeare Center of Los Angeles production of Henry IV.

In addition, the LADCC presented eight previously announced special awards, including the Ted Schmitt award for the world premiere of an outstanding new play to Lauren Yee for Cambodian Rock Band, the Margaret Harford award for sustained excellence in theater to Sacred Fools Theater Company, and the inaugural Theater Angel award for distinguished service to Los Angeles theater to Yvonne Bell.

The complete list of award recipients is as follows:


  • Cambodian Rock Band, produced by South Coast Repertory and Honorary Producers Carolyn and Bill Klein and Samuel and Tammy Tang, South Coast Repertory
  • Come From Away, produced by Junkyard Dog Productions, Jerry Frankel, Latitude Link, Smith & Brant Theatricals, Steve & Paula Reynolds, David Mirvish, Michael Rubinoff, Alhadeff Productions, Michael Alden & Nancy Nagel Gibbs, Sam Levy, Rodney Rigby, Spencer Ross, Richard Winkler, Yonge Street Theatricals, Sheridan College, Michael & Ellise Coit, Ronald Frankel, Sheri & Les Biller, Richard & Sherry Belkin, Marlene & Gary Cohen, Allan Detsky & Rena Mendelson, Lauren Doll, Barbara H. Freitag, Wendy Gillespie, Laura Little Theatricals, Carl & Jennifer Pasbjerg, Radio Mouse Entertainment, The Shubert Organization, Cynthia Stroum, Tulchin Bartner Productions, Gwen Arment/Molly Morris & Terry McNicholas, Maureen & Joel Benoliel/Marjorie & Ron Danz, Pamela Cooper/Corey Brunish, Demos Bizar/Square 1 Theatrics, Joshua Goodman/Lauren Stevens, Just for Laughs Theatricals/Judith Ann Abrams Productions, Bill & Linda Potter/Rosemary & Kenneth Willman and La Jolla Playhouse and Seattle Repertory Theatre, Center Theatre Group/Ahmanson Theatre
  • Cry It Out, produced by Chris Fields and Rachael Zambias/Echo Theater Company, Echo Theater Company at Atwater Village Theatre
  • Sell/Buy/Date, produced by Geffen Playhouse/Los Angeles LGBT Center’s Lily Tomlin/Jane Wagner Cultural Arts Center, Andrew Carlberg, and Foment Productions, Geffen Playhouse/Los Angeles LGBT Center

MCCULLOH AWARD FOR REVIVAL (Shows between 1920 and 1980)

  • Cabaret, produced by Michael Matthews, Michael O’Hara, Jay Marcus, Mark Giberson, Alan Wethern, David Tran, Parnell Damone Marcano, Constance Jewell Lopez, Celebration Theatre
  • Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead, A Noise Within
  • The Little Foxes, Antaeus Theatre Company


  • MaameYaa BoafoSchool Girls; Or, the African Mean Girls Play, Center Theatre Group/Kirk Douglas Theatre
  • Tom HanksHenry IV, The Shakespeare Center of Los Angeles
  • Kasey Mahaffy, Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead, A Noise Within
  • Alex NeeCabaret, Celebration Theatre
  • Conrad RicamoraSoft Power, Center Theatre Group/Ahmanson Theatre


  • Rob Nagle, The Little Foxes, Antaeus Theatre Company
  • Daisuke TsujiCambodian Rock Band, South Coast Repertory


  • Come From Away, Center Theatre Group/Ahmanson Theatre
  • The Little Foxes, Antaeus Theatre Company


  • Sarah JonesSell/Buy/Date, Geffen Playhouse / Los Angeles LGBT Center


  • Sarah JonesSell/Buy/Date, Geffen Playhouse / Los Angeles LGBT Center
  • Molly Smith MetzlerCry It Out, Echo Theater Company


  • Patrick MarberThree Days in the Country, Antaeus Theatre Company


  • Irene Sankoff and David HeinCome From Away, Center Theatre Group/ Ahmanson Theatre


  • Ian EisendrathCome From Away, Center Theatre Group/Ahmanson Theatre
  • Anthony ZedikerCabaret, Celebration Theatre


  • Janet RostonCabaret, Celebration Theatre


  • Jennifer ChangVietgone, East West Players
  • Geoff ElliottRosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead, A Noise Within


  • Stephen GiffordCabaret, Celebration Theatre
  • John Iacovelli, The Little Foxes, Antaeus Theatre Company


  • Matthew Brian DenmanCabaret, Celebration Theatre
  • Andrew Schmedake, Native Son, Antaeus Theatre Company


  • Allison DillardBLISS (or Emily Post is Dead!), Moving Arts at Atwater Village Theatre
  • Allison DillardPriscilla, Queen of the Desert, Celebration Theatre


  • Jeff GardnerNative Son, Antaeus Theatre Company
  • Joshua D. ReidA Christmas Carol, Geffen Playhouse


  • Kaitlyn Pietras and Jason H. ThompsonVietgone, East West Players


  • Thomas Isao Morinaka and Aaron Aoki for Fight ChoreographyVietgone, East West Players
  • Jim Steinmeyer for Illusions, Stagecraft, and Magic CarpetAladdin, Hollywood Pantages Theatre

The following special award winners were previously announced:

The THEATER ANGEL AWARD for distinguished service to Los Angeles Theater: Yvonne Bell.

The GORDON DAVIDSON Award for distinguished contribution to the Los Angeles theatrical community: Native Voices at the Autry.

The MARGARET HARFORD Award for sustained excellence: Sacred Fools Theater Company.

The POLLY WARFIELD Award for an excellent season in a small to mid-size theatre: Echo Theater Company.

The JOEL HIRSCHHORN Award for distinguished achievement in musical theatre: McCoy Rigby Entertainment & La Mirada Theatre for the Performing Arts.

The TED SCHMITT Award for the world premiere of an outstanding new play: Lauren Yee for Cambodian Rock Band, originally produced by South Coast Repertory.

The MILTON KATSELAS Award for distinguished achievement in direction: Cameron Watson.

The KINETIC LIGHTING Award for distinguished achievement in theatrical design: Robert Oriol, Sound Designer.

The Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle was founded in 1969. It is dedicated to excellence in theatrical criticism, and to the encouragement and improvement of theatre in Greater Los Angeles. The 2018 membership consisted of:

Frances Baum Nicholson, Southern California News Group, Stage Struck Review
Paul Birchall, Stage Raw, Stage & Cinema
Katie Buenneke, LA Weekly, Stage Raw
Erin Conley, On Stage & Screen
Ellen Dostal, BroadwayWorld LA, Musicals in LA
Lovell Estell III, Stage Raw, Arts in LA
Shirle Gottlieb, Arts in LA,
Margaret Gray, Los Angeles Times
Hoyt Hilsman, Huffington Post
Harker Jones, Edge Media Network
Deborah Klugman, Stage Raw, LA Weekly, Capital & Main
Jenny Lower, Stage Raw
Dany Margolies,, Southern California News Group
Myron Meisel, Stage Raw
Terry Morgan, Stage Raw,
Steven Leigh Morris, LA Stage Alliance
Melinda Schupmann,,
Jonas Schwartz-Owen,,
Don Shirley, LA Observed
Les Spindle, EDGE LA
Rob Stevens, haineshisway
Neal Weaver, Stage Raw,